Posted on

Ranji Trophy: Bengal faces M.P., whose eye on first win

Bangal skipper manij tiwari

Bengal would want the openers to give a fine start by applying themselves in the tricky first hour when the ball swings and seams on the lively Eden Gardens green-top.
Ca plus 15000 batBengal will look to strengthen their batting and exploit the home conditions when they host Madhya Pradesh in a second round Elite Group B Ranji Trophy fixture beginning Monday.
Puma batBoth the teams have secured three points from their opening match with the help of first-innings leads. While Bengal drew against Himachal Pradesh at Nadaun, Madhya Pradesh played a drawn match against Tamil Nadu at Dindigul.
The lack of big scores despite the starts plagued the side in the opening contest. Openers Abhishek Raman (48 and 87) and Abhimanyu Easwaran (21 and 76) looked in fine form against Himachal but got out before they could read a hundred. Against MP, the team would want its openers to provide a safe start in what is expected to be a testing opening hour at the green-top at Eden Gardens.

CA Willow cricket batThe ball seams in morning session. For batsmen, if we survive till drinks, [we would] get value for [our] shots. There are pros and cons,” Manoj Tiwary, the captain, said ahead of the contest. “I’m thinking about scoring a big one, but it’s not in my hands. I’m happy with the batting but I need to focus more when I cross 50-60. I will try my best,” Tiwary, who had been dismissed for 55 in the contest against MP, added.

Bengal team have: Manoj Tiwary (c), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Abhishek Raman, Sudip Chatterjee, Anustup Majumdar, Shreevats Goswami, Aamir Gani, B Amit, Pradipta Pramanik, Ashok Dinda, Ishan Porel, Koushik Ghosh, Mukesh Kumar, Vivek Singh, Shahba Ahamad and Writtick Chatterjee.
While on other hand Madhya Pradesh team have: Naman Ojha (c), Aryaman Birla, Ankit Dane (wk), Rajat Patidar, Shubham Sharma, Yash Dubey, Ankit Sharma, Mihir Hirwani, Avesh Khan, Ishwar Pandey, Kuldeep Sen, Saransh Jain, Venkatesh Iyer, Mohnish Mishra and Gourav Yadav.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *